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Incident:   New Driver’s and Provisional Driver’s License 
 
Every year many of our local teenagers receive their drivers’ licenses, 
and the privilege of driving in our community.  Passing the required test, 
and earning a driver’s license, comes with certain restrictions and 
increased responsibility. 
 
Today, Oregon law requires that all driver license holders under the age 
of 18 receive a provisional license.  A provisional license has restrictions 
that must be strictly followed.  The Newport Police Department would 
like to remind parents and new drivers that Oregon law requires the 
following of all provisional license holders under the age of 18: 
 
First Six Months 
    ●You cannot drive with a passenger under age 20 who is not a member    
     of your immediate family; and 
     ●You cannot drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless you are 
          ◊◊Driving between home and work; or 
          ◊◊Driving between home and a school event for which there is no    
          other transportation available; or 
          ◊◊Driving for employment purposes; or  
         ◊◊Accompanied by a license driver who is at least 25 years of age. 
 
Second Six Months 
     ●You cannot drive with more than three passengers who are under     
     age 20 who are not members of your immediate family; and 
    ●You cannot drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless you are 
          ◊◊Driving between home and work; or 
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          ◊◊Driving between home and a school event for which there is no  
          other transportation available; or 
          ◊◊Driving for employment purposes; or 
          ◊◊Accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 25 years of age. 
 
Any driver under the age of 18 cannot operate a motor vehicle while 
using a mobile communication device, including talking on a cell phone 
and texting.  Hands-free accessories are not allowed. 
 
Possession of an Oregon Driver’s License is a privilege, not a right.  
Provisional drivers’ license holders that drive outside the restrictions of a 
provisional license may be issued a citation for Operating a Vehicle in 
Violation of License Restrictions.  This offense is a Class B Traffic 
Violation, and carries a base fine of $242.00. 
 
The Newport Police Department encourages parents and teens to review 
the Oregon Parent Guide to Teen Driving published by ODOT.  The 
guide may be viewed at http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/7190.pdf 
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