Go to main content
Home Menu


The Patrol Division, as in most agencies, is the backbone of the Department. Twenty-four hours each day, seven days a week, police officers patrol the streets of Newport. Responding from calls from the 911 dispatch center, officers investigate a wide variety of calls from shoplifting and thefts, to assaults and robberies. When not responding to calls for service or traffic crashes, officers patrol all portions of the city. Based on the theory of random patrol, the officers check businesses, residences and public facilities. The frequency of patrol for certain areas of the city may be higher based on past calls for service or crime analysis information. Officers are also on the lookout for traffic violators and known wanted criminals. Newport Police Department participates in three federal traffic safety grants. The grants provide funds for police officer's overtime to enforce DUII laws, pedestrian laws and safety belt laws.

The Newport Police Department has several officers who are trained in Mountain Bike Patrol. These officers ride bikes during special events, including parades and festivals. An officer on a bicycle is highly mobile, able to respond quickly in heavy foot or vehicular traffic. The officer can provide focused patrols in problem areas and can check areas that he might otherwise overlook from a patrol vehicle.

Throughout the year, during special events, extra officers are placed on duty. These events include the Seafood and Wine Festival, Loyalty Days, three-day holiday weekends, New Year's Eve, the Fourth of July, and other special occasions.

Employment Application (pdf file)

Lt. Jason Malloy

Interim Chief of Police Jason Malloy

Serving since 1994

Sgt.Tony Garbarino

Sgt. Tony Garbarino

Serving since 1987

Sgt. Brent Gainer

Sgt. Brent Gainer

Serving since 2007

Sgt. Tyson Haynes

Sgt. Tyson Haynes

Serving since 1999

Sgt. Brad Purdom

Sgt. Brad Purdom

Serving since 2011

Sgt. Keith Garrett

Sgt. Keith Garrett

Serving since 2008

Officer Kraig Mitchell

Ofc. Kraig Mitchell

Serving since 2005

Officer Andy Ashpole

Ofc. Andy Ashpole

Serving since 2007

Officer Thomas Lekas

Ofc. Thomas Lekas

Serving since 2008

Officer Steve Hallmark

Ofc. Steve Hallmark

Serving since 2012

Officer Jon Humphreys

Ofc. Jon Humphreys

Serving since 2013

Officer Jim Folmar

Ofc. Jim Folmar

Serving since 2014

Officer Sam Clark

Ofc. Sam Clark

Serving since 2015

Officer Hayden Randall

Ofc. Hayden Randall

Serving since 2015

Officer Calvin Davis

Ofc. Calviin Davis

Serving since 2016

Officer Dusty Watson

School Resource Officer Dusty Watson

Serving since 2016

Officer Mike Leake

Ofc. Mike Leake

Serving since 2016

Officer Jack Dunteman

Ofc. Jack Dunteman

Serving since 2016